Locksport Groups
Locksport Local
Chapter President's Office
Locksport Board Room

Featured Picks
Locksmiths
Locksmiths Forum

Brinks 4-pin 30mm padlock disassembly

Information about locks themselves. Questions, tips and lock diagram information should be posted here.

Moderators: zeke79, keysman

Brinks 4-pin 30mm padlock disassembly

Postby Josh66 » Sat Jan 21, 2012 6:17 am

OK, so I'm new at this - I was finally able to open a No.1 Master Lock... All of the deadbolts I have on hand are too easy. While I was doing some shopping at Walmart today, I decide to check out their locks.

I wanted a padlock to practice on that would be easier than the No.1 Master Lock, and a deadbolt that would be harder than what I have now.

I ended up just getting a small Brinks padlock. I don't know the model number - the packaging says "161-30001", but google returned zero results on that.

It is similar to this one:
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Brinks-Brass- ... k/16783313

Details are:
4 "pick resistant" pins
1-3/16" Solid Brass (shackle is hardened steel)

Anyway ... I picked it in about 5 seconds on my first try... Now, I want to see these "pick resistant" pins... Can I disassemble it without destroying it? There is a small hole on the bottom near the plug. What is that for? I assume it is somehow used to remove the plug, but I haven't figured out how.

I tried searching, but without knowing what you're looking for it's kinda hard to know the right search terms... My searches didn't prove useful.
Josh66

Re: Brinks 4-pin 30mm padlock disassembly

Postby Josh66 » Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:41 am

I had two No.1 Master Locks keyed the same. I took one of them apart so I could examine the pins. I just want to do the same with this Brinks padlock... I only bought one, so I would prefer to not destroy it (like I did with the No.1). Since the lock is solid, there has to be a way to remove the plug without destroying the lock... I have the keys, of course...